LESSONS LEARNED IN 24 YEARS OF MY EXISTENCE IN THIS WORLD

April 26, 2016…

I learned…

That crying is not the sign of weakness at all.

 

I learned…

That someone who cries a lot, but they keep fighting for the things they believe in is much stronger than someone who never cries, but pull themselves out of the situation without even trying to find the solutions.

 

I learned…

That broken hearts can turn an angel into an evil.

 

I learned…

That at some points in life, we need to seek the help from other people, even if it is only to pour out what you have been keeping inside your heart.

 

I learned…

That we cannot change the past, nor can we erase it. What we can do is to accept it the way it is.

 

I learned…

That life has always had the bright side and the dark side. And we always have the power to see things from whichever side we want to.

 

I learned…

That life is not a fairytale, and it will never be. There is no such thing as happily ever after. There will be challenges, failures, tears, arguments, broken hearts….and death. But there will also be love, affection, success…and happiness. We cannot choose what we will get, but we can choose how we can get through it.

 

I learned…

That bad things happen to everybody, whether you are a good person or a bad one. So there is no point in asking why. All we can do is to accept it, embrace the pain that comes along with it, and then learn to toughen up.

 

I learned…

That sometimes we learn the lessons better through hard times. Guys will understand how much they love their girls after they lose them, successful entrepreneurs become like who they are now because they made wrong decisions before, and so on…. Maybe it is time to open up to the hard times and face it with courage.

 

I learned…

That long distance relationship is so fucked up. I will not recommend it to anyone, nor will I encourage my friends to go through this path. But one thing I want them to know, it is worth it. The journey is painful, but the reward at the end of the path is also bigger.

 

I learned…

That forgiving is the hardest and most painful thing a person needs to deal with. Lies within the act of forgiving is hundreds of sleepless nights, memory of betrayal, and the scars no one else can see.  Never underestimate the effort that someone does to forgive your mistakes.

 

I learned…

That the worst thing you can say to other people is “I lied for your own good”. The harsh truth is, white lies are still lies. There will always be someone bearing the consequences.

 

I learned…

That the cause of broken relationships is not the lack of love, but the presence of uncertainty. Relationships need commitment and a lot of hardworks. It is easier to walk away than to endure all the hardworks that sometimes we are not even sure will be paid off.

 

I learned…

That everyone makes mistakes. Just like life is not a fairytale, sadly I also just realized that nobody is perfect.  I guess I had very high expectations on everyone around me, it took me some times to open my eyes and adjust to reality. But I’m getting there.

 

I learned…

That moving on is a choice. You cannot force it. The realization that you want to move on is actually already one kind of moving on.

 

I learned…

That sometimes we need to fake the laugh until it becomes real.

 

I learned…

That happiness comes in different ways. I am grateful to still be able to breathe and pursue my dreams in this big world until today. Therefore, I am happy.

 

Happy 24th birthday, dear self!

FullSizeRender (2)

 

About Dinda Dwita Puspasari

born and raised in the summer haze... a bookworm, an art lover, a dance enthusiast, a deep thinker, and a passionate writer... for any queries, you can contact me directly to dindadwitapuspasari@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

